A favourite place: Mont Blanc and the Alps

I ride a scooter when I’m not on my bicycle but, since there has been quite heavy snow on the most interesting bits of where I live – that is, higher up, on the mountain – it has been difficult to get out and about. Today, for the first time in a while, I got the scooter going and set off up the mountain.

It was cold and some of the melt had turned to ice on the mountain road. But this is the vista I was rewarded with at the viewing point. I’ve seen this dozens of times but it never fails to fill me with awe, especially as you turn into a steeper section of the road and the sky is suddenly replaced with the Alps range as you level off.

Lake Annecy, easy to spot from here, was shrouded in mist. Only when I had taken several shots did I realise how cold it was there. I put my gloves and helmet on, and headed back down. I’ll return here from now on, all over the summer – it’s one of my favourite places.

Leave a Reply

