On slipper wearing

Slippers

un pantouflard

I’m supplementing my French language learning through a combination of audio and print (ie, through television and newspapers). This occasionally culminates in exposing the locals to my awkward grasp of their beautiful language. I enjoy learning, but it can be quite formal and detached.

But it isn’t always learning how to say: I want to take their book to them tomorrow evening. Today I came across a new word which comically sums up what some accuse me of doing all day in Geneva since I have left my day job and my part-time lecturing.

The term un pantouflard means a ‘slipper wearer’ and metaphorically one who stays at home or leads an uneventful life. An uneventful life it isn’t, but I do work from home and slippers are occasionally involved.

Here’s a definition from About.com:

Definition: (inf adj) – uneventful, quiet

Nous avons passé une journée pantouflarde. – We spent an uneventful day.

un pantouflard – stay-at-home person.

Related: une pantoufle – slipper; pantoufler – (inf) to laze/lounge around at home

I understand that it’s terms like this that mean you’re really getting to grips with the intricacies of commonplace language – although I’m far from that – and a reminder that a new language will bring its idiosyncrasies and new expressions. I’m looking forward to learning more.

As well as learning French and finish my Masters degree in educational technology, I hope to work in Geneva as a freelance consultant working with the web, education, and editing and writing. So I could hardly be called un pantouflard but if some people persist, well, I’m too busy loafing to care.

2 thoughts on “On slipper wearing

  1. Well, welcome to the French and Swiss expression. If you continue to learn the language by the street, you will be soon able to translate the following :

    Hier, le 25 décembre au soir on était dans une telle gonfle, je t’explique pas. Le lave-vaiselle avait pété et il y avait une craqueé de flote partout dans la casba. Ma louise a été obligée de pannosser toute la nuit avec les mouflets qui voulaient ouvrir les cadeaux dont le papier d’emballage était tout poisse”.

    Welcome in Switzerland (oops in French, Mr TheCummuter)

    Cheers

    • Alas at the moment I cannot translate this, and Google Translate misses several words out, so I shall assume that it has several examples of ‘informal’ language – and hope it’s clean!

      Thanks for the welcome, I’m enjoying living here.

Leave a Reply

