I’m a Rickstar: Slideshare’s viral marketing

Very clever, Slideshare, very clever indeed. The presentation sharing site Slideshare sent me an email with the subject title ‘You’re a rockstar!’ today telling me that my slides had suddenly found some new followers – tens of thousands of them. I’ve been Rickstarred more like:

Hi PhilGreaney,

We’ve noticed that your slideshow on SlideShare has been getting a LOT of views in the last 24 hours. Great job … you must be doing something right. 😉

Why don’t you tweet or blog this? Use the hashtag #bestofslideshare so we can track the conversation.

Congratulations,

-SlideShare Team

A couple of presentations became overnight success stories, one clocking in at around 40000 views. I’d like to think the presentation naturally generated such a following. But the truth is that Slideshare have more likely dabbled in a bit of viral marketing on April 1st, All Fools’ Day

It worked because it has massaged my ego – there’s nothing quite like exposure – and encouraged me to Tweet it, too, asking if it’s happened to anyone else. Right now it’s one of the most used hashtags on Twitter. And now, like a drone, I’m blogging it. The job has been done and Slideshare is back in the conversation.

I liked Slideshare before – I like it even more now.

Leave a Reply

